Follow

Versioning Feature for SCORM Cloud

Avatar

Versioning is best used when you want to make an updates, such as fix a typo or add more information, to a “live” course that already has registrations associated with it.  You can also use versioning if you want to be able to seamlessly track multiple updates to a single course.

To create a new version of your course, just follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your SCORM Cloud account at cloud.scorm.com
  2. Choose the course you want to version from your Library
  3. Click ‘Choose File’ under Create New Version

    new_ui_version1.png

  4. Choose your file for the new version of your course and click ‘Open



  5. Choose when to move existing registrations to the latest version from the drop-down menu and click 'Save'. It's important to note that any progress against the previous version will be lost if moving existing registrations to the new version. 

version2.png

NOTE: If you do not want to lose that progress, select the "Never" option. With the "Never" selection, existing registrations will continue to access the old version and new registrations will see the new version. 

*If you only need to switch out specific assets, with no structural changes to the course, you can look into updating your course via FTP.  Details here.

*Please note, you're not able to revert to a previous version of a course. You'll need to re-import that previous version of the course and version it again.

*How to version when using Quizzage here.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Chris Kalish

    Can you do a more detailed article on versioning? Why do you keep versions if you can't revert to a previous version? Can I delete old versions? Can I replace versions (sounds like I can using FTP in some cases)? If I "overwrite course files", will it keep the same invitation links and delete old versions?

  • Avatar
    Ryan Donnelly

    Hi Chris

    You're correct. We currently don't allow for version rollback or deletion of previous versions. We maintain previous versions due to the options you have on how you'd like to handle existing registrations (as mentioned in the article above).

    You can use the FTP to update assets for a particular course / version provided there have been no changes to the manifest. (https://support.scorm.com/hc/en-us/articles/206163896-Updating-your-course-assets-via-FTP)

    This depends on how you're overwriting (via the UI or FTP). We should adhere to the "existing registrations" setting you used at the time of versioning if using the UI.

    Please note, Overwriting in the UI is only recommended when you're testing and do not have live registrations.

    If you have any other questions the best place to reach us is via support@rusticisoftware.com.

    Thanks!
    Ryan

    Edited by Ryan Donnelly
  • Avatar
    Bryan Rojo

    The part that says "Move Existing Registrations to Newest version" how can I set that option If Im using the SCORM Cloud API

    this documentation
    https://cloud.scorm.com/docs/advanced/versioning.html

    is rather vague...

  • Avatar
    Ryan Donnelly

    That information is under the updateAttributes (https://cloud.scorm.com/docs/api_reference/course.html?highlight=updateattributes#updateattributes) section of the API docs. I've also attached a full list of the API properties.

    The "registrationInstancingOption" specifies how registrations will be handled when a new course version is uploaded. You might not need to change this depending on what your use case is.

    registrationInstancingOption=never, incomplete, complete, failed, passed, always

Powered by Zendesk