How do I differentiate between a SCORM 1.2 and a SCORM 2004 course?


The easiest way to figure this out is to look in the imsmanifest.xml file at the root of the course. Near the tip of the course, there might be a metadata tag (it will be required in 2004). If the schemaversion element in the metadata tag says "CAM 1.3" or "SCORM 2004 3rd Edition", then it is a SCORM 2004 course. Otherwise it is 1.2.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


  • Avatar
    Ken Prat

    You can also look for the default XML namespace. This is contained in the xmlns attribute of the root node of the manifest. If it's "", the file is SCORM 2004.



Powered by Zendesk